Chandigarh: January 11 (STN) – The big news regarding Punjab Assembly elections is that Punjab Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi can contest from two seats. CM Channi can contest from Punjab Chamkaur Sahib and Adampur Assembly seats. The announcement of Channi’s seats could be in the first list being released by the Congress.

According to sources, the Congress conducted a survey in Doaba constituency which revealed that the Congress was looking very weak in Adampur, Kartarpur and Phagwara. That is why the Congress High Command has decided to field Charanjit Singh Channi from Adampur. The Congress high command believes that S. Charanjit Singh Channi belongs to the Ravidasiya community, Doabe is largely dominated by the Ravidasiya community. Charanjit Singh Channi’s fight from Adampur where he will win a big victory as well as the Doaba constituencies will benefit the Congress.

It may be mentioned here that senior Congress leader Mahinder Singh KP was seeking tickets from Jalandhar West but a survey conducted by the Congress revealed that incumbent MLA Sushil Rinku could win from Jalandhar West. Mahinder Singh KP and Congress High Command can gamble from Kartarpur or Phagwara. The ticket of Surinder Chaudhary who is currently MLA from Kartarpur Assembly constituency can be deducted and also Sarwan Singh Phillaur and Vidhan Sabha constituency Phillaur or Vidhan Sabha constituency Kartarpur can gamble.